EducationWorld Rankings
Institution Updates

Manav Rachna University felicitates meritorious students at its first convocation

04 / 01 / 2018 (Thursday) || 11:49 AM
On December 26, Faridabad based Manav Rachna University (MRU) hosted its first convocation ceremony at the university campus. The chief guest on the occasion was Nadir Godrej, MD, Godrej Industries. He was accompanied by eminent dignitaries including Dr. Outi Kallioinen, ex-president, Lahti University of Applied Sciences, Finland; Satya Bhalla, chief patron, Manav Rachna Educational Institutions (MREI); Dr. Prashant Bhalla, president, MREI; Dr. Amit Bhalla, VP, MREI; Dr. Sanjay Srivastava, VC, MRU; Dr. Pritam Singh, advisor, Strategic Mentoring Board, MREI; Dr. Meenakshi Khurana, PVC, MRU; H K Batra, MD, Perfect Bread; Navdeep Chawla; CMD, Psychotropics India; Ravi Vasudeva, state general secretary, HCCI; deans and directors of the various institutions of MREI.

The convocation was declared open by Bhalla and Dr. Srivastava presented the annual report of MRU. Addressing the graduating students, he talked about the importance of ethics, loyalty and character building as the first step before stepping into the professional world.

The convocation memoir ‘Pratibimb’ was released at the ceremony. MRU also bestowed Nadir Godrej and Dr. Kallioinen with honourary doctorate degrees in Philosophy. 392 meritorious students from the 2017 batch (MBA, M. Tech and B. Tech programmes) were awarded degrees. Special awards were instituted for exemplary performance across various genres. All the awardees for the special awards and medals were chosen through a well-structured process where all nominations were evaluated by a committee headed by deans and directors.

Rashi Gupta (Information Technology) received the Patron’s Medal for her exemplary work in the areas of community service. Tarun Singh (Mechanical) was awarded the President’s Medal for his achievements at the international level; Anjan Kar (Electronics) was bestowed with the Vice President’s Medal for his achievements at the national level. Rohit Goel (Mechanical) was awarded with the Vice Chancellor’s Medal for his academic acumen. He is the topper of the B.Tech programmes. Shweta Gosain (Electronics) was awarded with Student Leadership Award for displaying outstanding leadership across academics, sports and other activities.

Lakshya Sharma (Mechanical) was announced as the ‘Outstanding Achiever’ in the field of Research; Mehak Lamba (Computer Science) in the field of Professional Proficiency; and Abhijeet Singh (Mechanical) in for Tech Expertise. The toppers of all the programmes were also felicitated on the occasion.

On the occasion, Godrej said, “While you are busy earning, make sure you are always learning. If you now see the light, your future will be very bright”.

The dignitaries also flagged off Mobycy bicycles from the MREI campus on this occasion. Mobycy is India’s first dock less bicycle sharing platform. Mobycy's "Smart Bikes" come with the Internet of Things (IOT) locks and GPS tracking, enabling remote management and traceability. These dock less bikes can be rented and parked anywhere. MREI is the first private institution to adopt Mobycy bicycles. Designated spaces for docking the bicycles at MREI will ensure that the campus stays clean and healthy.