pre school banner
pre school banner
Bharathidasan University






College Type


Founded in February 1982, Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli is named after the great revolutionary Tamil poet, Bharathidasan (1891-1968). The university has been accredited with an A grade by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC). The university boasts 16 schools of study, 34 departments, 11 specialised research centres, and 195 faculty members catering to 2372 students and scholars. The university offers 177 programmes including 40 PG programmes in MA, M.Sc and M.Tech conducted under the Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) in semesters. There are 138 collegesaffiliatedwith the university including 123 Arts and Science Colleges and 3 Colleges of Fine Arts. Among them, 8 government and 11 government aided colleges have autonomous status. There are10 constituent colleges in Perambalur, Orathanadu, Lalgudi, Aranthangi, Inamkulathur-Srirangam Taluk, Vedaranayam, Thiruthuraipoondi, Nannilam, Nagapattinam and Veppur. There are a total of 55 UG programmes and 62 PG programmes conducted in the affiliated colleges.


The Palkalaiperur campus of the university hosts majority of the university’s schools, departments and research centres, as well as the central library, administrative building, bank, post office, canteen, health centre, staff quarters, guest house and eight hostels. The sports infrastructure includes a good gymnasium with multi-gym facilities and yoga centre, an indoor stadium for table tennis, chess, carom, weight lifting and power lifting. The campus also houses a facilities for basketball, badminton, cricket, football, hockey, kho-kho, kabbadi, handball, netball and a standard 400 metre athletic track. The Khajamalai campus houses departments of economics, education technology, social work, women studies, department of computer science and engineering, department of lifelong learning, the Institute for Entrepreneurship and Career Development (IECD), the Bharathidasan University Technology Park (BUTP), department of remote sensing and academic staff college and a students’ hostel. The Bharathidasan Institute of Management (BIM) located within the Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited (BHEL) campus at Tiruverumbur on the Tiruchirappalli-Thanjavur highway is an ideal training ground for DRDO scientists and hosts a well stocked library and sports facilities.



General Information



For information, applications and prospectus please refer Fees Please contact the university for information on fees.


Bharathidasan University boasts national and international research collaborations with universities across the world. The Physics department of the university boasts collaboration with the University of California (USA), Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (Germany), International Centre for Theoretical Physics (Italy), University of Cergy – Pontoise (France), University of Denmark, Max – Planck Institute for Complex Systems (Germany), Los Alamos National Laboratory (USA), Universidad Rey Juan Carlos (Spain), Oxford University (England), Chinese Academy of Sciences (Beijing), University of Tokyo (Japan), FCT-UNL (Portugal), University of Nerdchatel (Switzerland), University of Toledo (USA), Sungkyunkwan University (Korea), University of San-Palo (Brazil). The Chemistry department is associated with the University de Neuchatel (Switzerland), Frenking-Philipps University (Germany), Coventry University (England) Horward University (USA), University of Manchester (England), Ningbo University (P.R.China), University of Zurich (Switzerland). The Department of Animal Science boasts collaboration with the University of Kentucky (USA), University of Camerino (Italy), Hokkaido University (Japan), Nanyang Technical University (Singapore) and the Department of Marine Science is associated with Computational Biology Research Centre (Tokyo), University of Plovdiv (Bulgaria). The Department of Biotechnology collaborates with Paichai University (Korea), Bar-Illam University (Israel), Entomological Research Institute (Czechoslaviya), University of Exetes (England), Wurzberg University (Germany). Recently, the university has set up a nodal agency, "Bharathidasan University Business Development Cell" for co-ordinating / channelising the university-industry R & D linkages and several MoUs have been signed towards this end.


There are eight hostels in the main campus accommodating 1460 students; of the eight hostels four hostels are for boys with 694 hostellers and the remaining four hostels are for girls with 766 women hostellers. The Khajamalai Campus houses the Sindhu Hostel. The hostel rooms are equipped with hot water facility in the bathrooms, fans, good lighting, adequate water facility, recreation centre, playing ground, TV news papers and magazines. The hostels also offer Wi-Fi facility for students to access internet from their respective rooms using their lap-tops. The women’s hostels are equipped with 24 hour surveillance; there is also a Grievance Redressal Committee and Purchase Committee which meet once in a month. The hostels offer hygienic cooking facility and spacious dining halls and are provided with telephone facility to receive calls from outside.


Website :

Address : Palkalaiperur

Email : [email protected]

Contact : 4312407071

Send Enquiry

This helps us prevent spam, thank you.

Current Issue
EducationWorld September 2023
ParentsWorld August 2023

School for me
WordPress Lightbox Plugin