Jobs in Education System
Banner Final-07
Central Sanskrit Universities Bill 2019

Parliament passes Central Sanskrit Universities Bill, 2019

March 17, 2020

Parliament on Monday passed a bill to upgrade three deemed Sanskrit universities into central universities. The Central Sanskrit Universities Bill, 2019 was passed by voice vote in Rajya Sabha. Earlier the bill was passed by Lok Sabha.

The Bill seeks to upgrade three deemed to be universities in Sanskrit – Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan, Sri Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, and Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeeth Tirupati into central universities.

Following their conversion, the Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan will be known as Central Sanskrit University, Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha will become Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit University and Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha will be National Sanskrit University.

The bill was moved in Rajya Sabha by Human Resource Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank. He said, “We are committed to strengthening all Indian languages.”

The Union government said in a statement that this is one of the landmark Bills passed by the Parliament which has fulfilled the aspirations and long-standing wish of many Sanskrit lovers, scholars and Sanskrit speaking people in the country.

Also read: Central Sanskrit University Bill approved by Union Cabinet

Source: PTI

Posted in National, News
Current Issue
EducationWorld June 2024
ParentsWorld May 2024

Access USA Alliance
Access USA
WordPress Lightbox Plugin