Jobs in Education System
Banner Final-07

Karnataka: Textbook committee’s revision recommendations accepted, changes effective this year

March 6, 2024

Going by their pre-election promise, the Karnataka government has revised the state syllabus textbooks, re-introducing content that was dropped by the committee formed by the previous BJP government and omitting some on ideological lines.

Among the significant changes are the re-introduction of works of various Kannada writers like Devanuru Mahadeva, Girish Karnad, P Lankesh, Mudnakudu Chinnaswamy, Nagesh Hegade and others.

The changes will be effective from the academic year 2024-25. In a circular on March 5, the state approved revision of textbooks for Kannada first language (classes 1 to 10), Kannada third language textbooks (classes 9 and 10), as well as the social science textbooks basis the recommendations of an expert committee led by Manjunath G Hegde, a retired professor, entrusted with the task of revising the books.

This is the second follow-up order on revision of textbook content since the Siddaramaiah government came to power. In June 2023, minister for school education and literacy, Madhu Bangarappa had announced 18 changes, undoing some content changes made by the previous government.

“The committee worked diligently, and as per the extended timeline and they submitted a comprehensive report after thoroughly revising the textbooks,” read the circular even among speculations that the revision of textbooks would lead to a delay in printing and supply to schools for the current academic year.

Among the changes that were introduced by Rohit Chakratirtha’s committee that has now been undone is the re-introduction of content on Savitribai Phule and Periyar besides a chapter on Social and Religious Reform Movements in the class 10 history textbook.

The much-debated chapter on RSS founder Dr Keshav Baliram Hedgewar’s ‘Nijavada Adarsha Purusha Yaragabeku’ has been replaced with ‘Sukumara Swamia Kathe’ by Shivakotyacharya  and Hindutva proponent Chakravarthy Sulibele’s ‘Taayi Bharatiya Amara Putraru’, has been dropped without replacement.

In the chapter ‘Central government, state government and the judicial  system’, photographs of the new parliament building and the roadmap of centre and state have been updated while in the chapter on elections, besides revision of content, details on SVEEP and national voters day has been included.

While including a new chapter on public administration, the chapter on India’s relationship with other countries has been omitted.

Also read: Karnataka to divide textbooks into two parts to lighten students’ school bags

Posted in News, States
Current Issue
EducationWorld June 2024
ParentsWorld May 2024

Access USA Alliance
Access USA
WordPress Lightbox Plugin