Jobs in Education System
Banner Final-07
University of Calcutta






College Type


The University of Calcutta also known as Calcutta University (CU) is a public state university located in College Street, Kolkata. Established on January 24, 1857, CU is the first institution in South Asia to be established as a multidisciplinary and secular Western-style university. The UGC and NAAC have accredited CU as a Five Star University and a Centre with Potential for Excellence. CU has several notable firsts to its credit, its affiliations include Calcutta Medical College (1835), the first medical school of Asia; Bethune College (1879) which was the first women’s college in India; India’s first homoeopathy college (1880); The Science College (1914) the first in India; The first blind school in India (1925); the Ashutosh Museum (1937) first University Museum in India; The Government Art College (1951); Indian Institute of Social Welfare and Business Management (IISWBM) (1953) the country’s first management institute. CU’s first affiliated institutions were Parental Academic Institution and Doverton College (Doverton College), Calcutta; St. Paul’s School, Calcutta (Re-affiliated in 1936); Free Church Institution, Calcutta; La Martiniere, Calcutta (re-affiliated in 1928); London Missionary Society’s Institution, Bhowanipur; Presidency College, Calcutta; Medical College, Calcutta; Calcutta Civil Engineering College (Bengal Engineering College, Howrah at present Bengal Engineering and Science University) (re-affiliated in 1880); Hooghly College (Hooghly Mohsin College), Hooghly; Dacca College, Dacca; Krishnagar College, Krishnagar; Krishnath College, Berhampore; Serampore College, Serampore (re-affiliated in 1911). CU boasts a total of 14 campuses in Kolkata and its suburbs - the central/main campus located in College Street is also known as Ashutosh Shiksha Prangan.


CU’s main campus is called Asutosh Siksha Prangan or College Street Campus. The other campuses are Rashbehari Siksha Prangan or Rajabazar Science College Campus; Taraknath Palit Siksha Prangan or Ballygunge Science College Campus; Sahid Kshudiram Siksha Prangan or Alipore Campus; BT Road Campus; Hazra Road Campus or Law College Campus; Viharilal Home Science Campus; University Health Service, Goenka Hospital Diagnostic Research Centre; Haringhata Campus; University Press and Book Depot; Baruipur Campus; University Grounds and Tent; University Rowing Club; Technology Campus, Salt Lake The central campus spread over 2.7 acres offices offices of the Vice-Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor (Academic Affairs), Registrar, Controller of Examinations, Engineer, Secretary, BCW Cell, Estate and Trust office. The Ashutosh Building houses teaching departments for Arabic and Persian languages, Bengali language and literature, Commerce, English, French, Hindi Languages [Foreign], Library and Information Science, Linguistics, Pali, Sanskrit and Urdu. The campus also houses a canteen, sales counter, students’ amenity centre, Chhatra Bhavan, and employment information and guidance bureau. The Hardinge Building houses teaching departments of journalism and mass communication, film study centre, and Tamil studies. The Centenary Building comprises administrative offices and service centres, office of the Pro- Vice - Chancellor (BA & F), office of the Finance Officer, accounts office, Ashutosh Museum, board of discipline, board of residence, cash section, centenary auditorium, central library, college inspectorate, controllers department, government audit department, office of the secretary, councils for undergraduate studies, internal audit department and sports office.



General Information



The university’s academic session commences every year on July 1 and ends on June 30 of the following year. Admission to the undergraduate courses commences after announcement of the result of the Higher Secondary Examination of West Bengal Council of Higher Secondary Education (WBCHSE). Admission for the postgraduate courses commences after announcement of B.A./B.Sc./B.Com. Honours results of the university. For detailed information on admissions to undergraduate courses, please refer For information on admissions to postgraduate courses, please refer Fees Please contact the university’s office for information on fees.




CU has 17 halls and hostels that accommodate about 2000 students including postgraduate and undergraduate students, research scholars/fellows of the university.


Website :

Address : Senate House, 87/1,

Email : [email protected]

Contact : 3322410071

Send Enquiry

This helps us prevent spam, thank you.

Senate House, 87/1,
Current Issue
EducationWorld July 2024
ParentsWorld June 2024

Access USA Alliance
Access USA
WordPress Lightbox Plugin