10 Tips for learning a Foreign Language quickly & effectively

Class 9-10 students to study two Indian languages, one for class 11-12 as per NCF

August 23, 2023

As per the New Curriculum Framework (NCF), students in grades 9 and 10 are now required to study three languages, including two indigenous Indian languages. Meanwhile, students in grades 11 and 12 are mandated to learn one Indian language and an additional language. The formulation of the NCF aligns with the new National Education Policy (NEP) and has been overseen by the national steering committee led by former ISRO chief K Kasturirangan.

Presently, students in grades 9 and 10 study two compulsory languages, while those in grades 11 and 12 study one language. Previously, students from grades 9 to 12 had to study a total of five subjects, with the option of including one additional subject. However, based on the recommendations in the NCF, the number of mandatory subjects will increase to seven for grades 9-10 and six for grades 11-12.

The NCF document, accessible by PTI, asserts that a comprehensive language curriculum will enable students to develop democratic and epistemic values and cultivate respect for culture and diversity within society. Learning multiple languages will broaden students’ perspectives, and acquiring proficiency in another Indian language will foster a deeper connection with the nation and instill a sense of pride and belonging.

Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan formally presented the NCF to the National Council for Educational Research and Training (NCERT) during a joint meeting of the National Oversight Committee (NOC) and National Syllabus and Teaching-Learning Material Committee (NSTC). This step lays the foundation for the development of school syllabi and textbooks.

As outlined in the NCF’s curriculum structure for grades 9 and 10, all schools are obligated to offer three languages, with at least two being native to India. In addition to the languages, students are required to study seven other subjects, encompassing mathematics and computational thinking, social science, science, art education, physical education and well-being, vocational education, and interdisciplinary domains.

However, board examinations will cover seven subjects, including languages. For subjects like art education, physical education and well-being, and vocational education, internal exams with external examiners will determine assessment outcomes.

Currently, grades 11 and 12 necessitate the study of only one language. According to the NCF, students in these grades are required to study two subjects within Language Education, at least one of which must be an indigenous Indian language. Literature subjects are also encompassed within Language Education at this level.

By renaming the existing secondary and senior secondary stages as one secondary stage divided into two phases—classes IX and X, and classes XI and XII—the NCF suggests a “four years of multidisciplinary study” encompassing all areas of the curriculum.

Source: PTI

Posted in National, News
Current Issue
EducationWorld November 2023
ParentsWorld November 2023

School for me
WordPress Lightbox Plugin