Jobs in Education System
Nobel Peace Prize

100th Nobel Peace Prize: Ethiopian PM Abiy Ahmed Ali honoured

October 11, 2019

43 year-old Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed Ali has been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his efforts to resolve his country’s conflict. According to the website, he has been awarded “for his efforts to achieve peace and international cooperation, and in particular for his decisive initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighbouring Eritrea.”

This year’s prize is also the 100th Nobel Peace Prize and Ahmed is the first Ethiopian to be awarded the same. Born in Beshasha, Ethiopia, after becoming the prime minister in April 2018, he pursued many policies to upend and reshape his country’s society. Within six months of his swearing-in, Ahmed made peace with foe Eritrea, a country in East Africa.

He also released protestors from jail, apologised for the state’s brutality, and brought home armed groups that were earlier called “terrorists” by his predecessors. In July this year, as part of his Green Legacy Initiative, over 350 million trees were planted to counter the effects of deforestation and climate change. His influence has been such that “Abiymania” has sweeped through the African continent.

The website further added, ” When Abiy Ahmed became Prime Minister in April 2018, he made it clear that he wished to resume peace talks with Eritrea. In close cooperation with Isaias Afwerki, the President of Eritrea, Abiy Ahmed quickly worked out the principles of a peace agreement to end the long “no peace, no war” stalemate between the two countries. These principles are set out in the declarations that Prime Minister Abiy and President Afwerki signed in Asmara and Jeddah last July and September. An important premise for the breakthrough was Abiy Ahmed’s unconditional willingness to accept the arbitration ruling of an international boundary commission in 2002.”

Recommended: Noble Laureates- Pride of India

Ahmed became the 24th African to win a Nobel, following Denis Mukwege of the Democratic Republic of the Congo last year. Other African winners of the peace prize includes Liberia’s Leymah Gbowee, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Egypt’s Mohamed ElBaradei, Kenya’s Wangari Maathai, and Kofi Annan.


Posted in International, News
Current Issue
EducationWorld May 2024
ParentsWorld February 2024

WordPress Lightbox Plugin